2017 Class Of National Distinguished Principals

National Distinguished Principals Program

2017 Class of National Distinguished Principals

Congratulations to our 2017 Class of National Distinguished Principals! NAESP honors the following outstanding elementary and middle-level administrators for setting high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities. Learn more about the NDP program here.

Our 2017 National Distinguished Principals Program will be held Oct. 12-13, 2017 in Washington, D.C.

For quick selection, choose state from dropdown list:

Alabama

Julie G. Pierce

Fairhope Elementary School
Baldwin County Public Schools
Fairhope, Alabama
jgpierce@bcbe.org

Read Julie’s Biography

Alaska

Lisa L. Vrvilo

Cottonwood Creek School
Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District
Wasilla, Alaska
lisa.vrvilo@matsuk12.us

Read Lisa’s Biography

Arizona

Christine Bonow

Redfield Elementary School
Scottsdale Unified School District
Scottsdale, Arizona
cbonow@susd.org

Read Christine’s Biography

Arkansas

Annette Freeman

Gene George Elementary
Springdale School District
Springdale, Arkansas
afreeman@sdale.org

Read Annette’s Biography

Arkansas

Kelli Dawn McGaha-Martin

Greenbrier Middle School
Greenbrier School District
Greenbrier, Arkansas
martink@greenbrierschools.org

Read Kelli’s Biography

California

Scott M. Borba

Alice N. Stroud Elementary School
Empire Union School District
Modesto, California
sborba@empire.k12.ca.us

Read Scott’s Biography

Colorado

Tobey Cho Bassoff

Ryan Elementary STEAM School
Boulder Valley School District
Lafayette, Colorado
tobey.bassoff@bvsd.org

Read Tobey’s Biography

Connecticut

Carla A. Armistead

Chapel Street School
Stratford Public Schools
Stratford, Connecticut
armisteadc@stratfordk12.org

Read Carla’s Biography

Delaware

Becky Neubert

Central Elementary
Seaford School District
Seaford, Delaware
becky.neubert@seaford.k12.de.us

Read Becky’s Biography

Florida

Margaret M. Gunderson

Millennium Middle School
Seminole County Public Schools
Sanford, Florida
Margaret_Gunderson@scps.k12.fl.us

Read Margaret’s Biography

Georgia

Cynthia J. Hammond

Westside Elementary
Houston County Schools
Perry, Georgia
cynthia.hammond@hcbe.net

Read Cynthia’s Biography

Georgia

Lori A Joiner

Risley Middle School
Glynn County Schools
Brunswick, Georgia
ljoiner@glynn.k12.ga.us

Read Lori’s Biography

Hawaii

Nelson R. Shigeta

Makaha Elementary School
Leeward District
Waianae, Hawaii
nelson_shigeta@notes.k12.hi.us

Read Nelson’s Biography

Idaho

Tina Jo Fehringer

Hillcrest Elementary School
American Falls School District
American Falls, Idaho
tinaf@sd381.k12.id.us

Read Tina’s Biography

Illinois

Michelle R. Willis

Gillespie Tech Elementary School
Chicago Public Schools
Chicago, Illinois
mrwillis@cps.edu

Read Michelle’s Biography

Indiana

Davin E. Harpe

Sugar Grove Elementary
Center Grove Community School Corporation
Greenwood, Indiana
harped@centergrove.k12.in.us

Read Davin’s Biography

Iowa

James F. Murray

Tilford Elementary School
Vinton-Shellsburg Community School District
Vinton, Iowa
jim.murray@vscsd.org

Read James’s Biography

Kansas

Dana J. Sprinkle

Ell-Saline Elementary
USD 307
Salina, Kansas
dsprinkle@ellsaline.org

Read Dana’s Biography

Kentucky

Dana L. Blankenship

Peaks Mill Elementary
Franklin County Schools
Frankfort, Kentucky
dana.blankenship@franklin.kyschools.us

Read Dana’s Biography

Maine

Jennifer Ann McGee

Atwood Primary School
RSU 18
Oakland, Maine
jmcgee@rsu18.org

Read Jennifer’s Biography

Maryland

Michael L. Browne

Pocomoke Elementary School
Worcester County Public Schools
Pocomoke, Maryland
MLBrowne@mail.worcester.k12.md.us

Read Michael’s Biography

Massachusetts

Christopher J. Getchell

Parkview Elementary School
Easton Public Schools
Easton, Massachusetts
cgetchell@easton.k12.ma.us

Read Christopher’s Biography

Michigan

Amy J. Taranko

Spitler Elementary
Hart Public Schools
Hart, Michigan
ataranko@hart.k12.mi.us

Read Amy’s Biography

Minnesota

Jessica Cabeen

Woodson Kindergarten Center
Austin Public Schools
Austin, Minnesota
jessica.cabeen@austin.k12.mn.us

Read Jessica’s Biography

Mississippi

Melissa Wise Philley

Ann Smith Elementary
Madison County School District
Ridgeland, Mississippi
mphilley@madison-schools.com

Read Melissa’s Biography

Missouri

Janell R. Bagwell

Eugene Field Elementary
Springfield Public Schools
Springfield, Missouri
jbagwell@spsmail.org

Read Janell’s Biography

Montana

Susan Sweeney

Broadwater Elementary School
Helena School District
Helena, Montana
ssweeney@helenaschools.org

Read Susan’s Biography

Nebraska

Kathleen R. Mathews

Park Elementary School
Kearney Public Schools
Kearney, Nebraska
kmathews@kearneycats.com

Read Kathleen’s Biography

Nevada

Sarah A. Popek

Myrtle Tate Elementary School
Clark County School District
Las Vegas, Nevada
sapopek@interact.ccsd.net

Read Sarah’s Biography

New Hampshire

Kimberly Yarlott

Reeds Ferry School
Merrimack School District
Merrimack, New Hampshire
kimberly.yarlott@sau26.org

Read Kimberly’s Biography

New Hampshire

Michael S. Fournier

McKelvie Intermediate School
Bedford School District
Bedford, New Hampshire
fournierm@sau25.net

Read Michael’s Biography

New Jersey

Tammy B. Jenkins

Sunnymead Elementary School
Hillsborough Township School District
Hillsborough, New Jersey
tjenkins@htps.us

Read Tammy’s Biography

New Mexico

Robyn Cook

Cloudcroft Elementary School
Cloudcroft School District
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
robyn.cook@cmsbears.org

Read Robyn’s Biography

New York

Jeremy M. Rich

Barringer Road Elementary School
Central Valley Central School District
Ilion, New York
jrich@cvalleycsd.org

Read Jeremy’s Biography

New York

Mary Beth Fierro

Oswego Middle School
Oswego City School District
Oswego, New York
mfierro2@oswego.org

Read Mary’s Biography

North Carolina

Jason C. Griffin

Hertford Grammar School
Perquimans County Schools
Hertford, North Carolina
jasongriffin@pqschools.org

Read Jason’s Biography

North Dakota

Cindy Cook

Sunnyside Elementary School
Minot Publics Schools
Minot, North Dakota
cindy.cook@minot.k12.nd.us

Read Cindy’s Biography

Ohio

Rhonda N. Peeples

Weinland Park Elementary
Columbus City Schools
Columbus, Ohio
rpeeples6505@columbus.k12.oh.us

Read Rhonda’s Biography

Oklahoma

Robbie K. Holder

L. Mendel Rivers
Altus Public School District
Altus, Oklahoma
rholder@altusps.com

Read Robbie’s Biography

Oregon

Kelly Soter

Jackson Elementary School
Medford School District
Medford, Oregon
kelly.soter@medford.k12.or.us

Read Kelly’s Biography

Pennsylvania

Steven M. Smith

Eden Hall Upper Elementary
Pine-Richland School District
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
ssmith@pinerichland.org

Read Steven’s Biography

Rhode Island

Donna M. Coderre

Leo A. Savoie Elementary School
Woonsocket School District
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
dcoderre@woonsocketschools.com

Read Donna’s Biography

South Carolina

Denise Barth

Catawba Trail Elementary School
Richland School District Two
Elgin, South Carolina
dbarth@richland2.org

Read Denise’s Biography

South Dakota

Kim M. Johnson

Austin Elementary
Vermillion School District
Vermillion, South Dakota
kimmarie.johnson@k12.sd.us

Read Kim’s Biography

Tennessee

Amy C. Downey

Charlotte Park Elementary School
Metro Nashville Public Schools
Nashville, Tennessee
amy.downey@mnps.org

Read Amy’s Biography

Tennessee

Kevin Armstrong

DuPont Hadley Middle Prep
Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools
Old Hickory, Tennessee
kevin.armstrong@mnps.org

Read Kevin’s Biography

Texas

Lois Annette Dailey

Crenshaw Elementary and Middle School
Galveston ISD
Crystal Beach, Texas
AnnetteDailey@gisd.org

Read Lois’s Biography

Utah

Todd A. Theobald

Majestic Elementary
Jordan School District
West Jordan, Utah
todd.theobald@jordandistrict.org

Read Todd’s Biography

Vermont

William S. Hammond

Marion Cross School
Norwich School District
Norwich, Vermont
bill.hammond@marioncross.org

Read William’s Biography

Virginia

Hamish M. Brewer

Occoquan Elementary
Prince William County Public Schools
Woodbridge, Virginia
brewerhm@pwcs.edu

Read Hamish’s Biography

Washington

Adina T. Brito

Evergreen Elementary
Shelton School District
Shelton, Washington
abrito@sheltonschools.org

Read Adina’s Biography

West Virginia

Jennifer A. Cox

Skyview Elementary
Monongalia County Schools
Morgantown, West Virginia
jacox@k12.wv.us

Read Jennifer’s Biography

Wisconsin

Daniel H. Westfahl

Brookfield Elementary School
Elmbrook School District
Brookfield, Wisconsin
westfahd@elmbrookschools.org

Read Daniel’s Biography

Wyoming

Breez L. Daniels

Thermopolis Middle School
Hot Springs County School District #1
Thermopolis, Wyoming
bdaniels@hotsprings1.org

Read Breez’s Biography

Private Schools

California

Gayle R. Renken

St. Timothy’s Christian Academy
Evangelical Lutheran Education Association
San Jose, California
gayle.renken@stlcsj.org

Read Gayle’s Biography

California

Kenneth J. Willers

School of the Madeleine
Diocese of Oakland
Berkeley, California
kwillers@themadeleine.com

Read Kenneth’s Biography

Illinois

Phyllis Cavallone-Jurek

St. Therese Chinese Catholic School
Chicago Archdiocese
Chicago, Illinois
principal@sttheresechicago.org

Read Phyllis’s Biography

Texas

Patrick O’Sullivan

Christ the King Catholic School
Diocese of Dallas
Dallas, Texas
posullivan@cks.org

Read Patrick’s Biography

Wisconsin

Michael J. Yurk

St. Paul Lutheran School
Lutheran Church Missouri Synod
Grafton, Wisconsin
michael.yurk@splgrafton.org

Read Michael’s Biography

DODEA and Overseas Schools

Japan

Michelle A. Moore-Robinson

Kinser Elementary School
Department of Defense Education Activity
Okinawa, Japan
michelle.moore-robinson@pac.dodea.edu

Read Michelle’s Biography

Germany

Andrea L. Rosinger

Frankfurt International School
U.S. Department of State- Office of Overseas Schools
Wiesbaden-Naurod, Germany
andrea_rosinger@fis.edu

Read Andrea’s Biography

Jakarta, Indonesia

Elsa H. Donohue

Jakarta Intercultural School
U.S. Department of State- Office of Overseas Schools
Cilandak, Jakarta, Indonesia
edonohue@jisedu.or.id

Read Elsa’s Biography