NAESP Welcomes new Vice President, Board Members

David Steckler will serve as vice president of NAESP’s Board of Directors; Victorius Eugenio, Thomas Payton, and John Quinn will also begin new terms as board members.

Media Advisory
Kaylen Tucker, NAESP

April 23, 2020—The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) welcomes David Steckler, principal of Red Trail Elementary School in Mandan, North Dakota, as the recently elected vice president of the NAESP Board of Directors.

Steckler, a member of NAESP for the past 22 years, has served on various NAESP committees, including the NAESP Board of Directors. Steckler has also held leadership positions with North Dakota Association of Elementary School Principals and the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction.

“I am a strong believer that as an organization we must support our principals,” said Steckler. “When I begin my term as vice president, I will be committed to working with NAESP Board of Directors and all NAESP members to build a quality public education for principals and, most important, our children.”

Steckler will begin his term of vice president Aug. 1, 2020, and will become the president of the NAESP Board of Directors two years later—after he has served as both vice president and president-elect. NAESP’s current vice president, Kimbrelle Barbosa Lewis, will become president, and Paul Wenger will become president-elect, effective Aug. 1, 2020.

In NAESP Zone elections, the following individuals were elected to the NAESP Board of Directors:

  • John Quinn, principal of Clara Barton Elementary School in Oxford, Massachusetts, will represent Zone 1 principals in Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
  • Thomas Payton, principal of Roanoke Avenue Elementary School in Riverhead, New York, will represent Zone 2 principals in New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania.
  • Victorius Eugenio, principal of Daggett Montessori School K–8 in Fort Worth, Texas, will represent Zone 8 principals in Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

All three new Zone directors will also begin their terms Aug. 1, 2020.

NAESP is the leading national association representing elementary and middle school principals in the United States, Canada, and overseas. NAESP supports principals as the primary catalysts for creating lasting foundations for learning in their commitment to all children through policy development, advocacy, and resources for effective instructional leadership. The association seeks to advance the principals’ profession at the national level and address issues in pre-K-3 alignment, principal preparation and evaluation, and building the capacity of new principals. NAESP honors principals through its NAESP National Distinguished Principals program and administers a variety of professional services, including the National Mentor Certification program for principals.