NAESP Announces Student Council Excellence Award Winners During National Student Leadership Week

Thirty student councils are recognized for their work to foster community service, leadership, citizenship, and school spirit.

Alexandria, Virginia—April 22, 2024—The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) and the American Student Council Association (ASCA) proudly celebrate 2024 National Student Leadership Week, taking place from April 22-26. This week is an opportunity to recognize the pivotal role student councils play in shaping the next generation of leaders. 

“Student councils provide a platform for students to learn about democracy, civic engagement, and leadership,” said NAESP Executive Director L. Earl Franks, Ed.D., CAE. “Our students are not just preparing for the future; they are actively shaping it through their actions and commitment to making a difference. On behalf of NAESP, I’m thrilled to celebrate their achievements—and the school leaders who guide them—during this National Student Leadership Week.” 

During this special week, schools across the nation are encouraged to celebrate the hard work and achievements of their student leaders. The student council experience offers young individuals their first taste of governance, engagement in elections, and the joy of planning school activities, all while fostering service, leadership, citizenship, and school spirit. 

ASCA Student Council School of Excellence Award Winners 

To kick off #NSLW24, NAESP is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 ASCA Student Council School of Excellence Award.  

  • Abbot-Downing Elementary School, Concord, New Hampshire 
  • Adella Young Elementary School, Pasadena, Texas 
  • Adrien Block Intermediate School 25, Queens, New York 
  • Barton Elementary School, Irving, Texas 
  • Bill Childress Elementary School, Vinton, Texas 
  • Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School, Glenn Heights, Texas
  • Eastplain Elementary School, North Massapequa, New York 
  • Fred Roberts Middle School, Houston, Texas 
  • Hamilton Elementary School, Tulsa, Oklahoma 
  • Hanalani School, Mililani, Hawaii 
  • Harrison Middle School, Harrison, Arkansas  
  • J.O. Schulze Elementary School, Irving, Texas 
  • K.L. Carver Elementary School, San Marino, California 
  • Madison Crossing Elementary School, Canton, Mississippi 
  • Madison Junior School, Madison, New Jersey 
  • Mauriceville Elementary School, Orange, Texas 
  • Nancy Young Elementary School, Aurora, Illinois 
  • Nelson Elementary School, Hacienda Heights, California 
  • Nolan Elementary School, Signal Mountain, Tennessee 
  • Pistor Middle School, Tucson, Arizona 
  • Pleasantdale Elementary School, LaGrange, Illinois 
  • Ruby Young PSTEAM Academy, DeSoto, Texas 
  • Sparks Elementary School, Pasadena, Texas 
  • STEM Academy at Donald Elementary School, Flower Mound, Texas 
  • Tea Area Legacy Elementary School, Tea, South Dakota 
  • Teague Elementary School, Pasadena, Texas 
  • Urbana Elementary School, Frederick, Maryland 
  • Valley Ranch Elementary School, Irving, Texas 
  • Valley View Elementary School, Montville, New Jersey 
  • W.C. Petty Elementary School, Antioch, Illinois 

National University Harmony Academy is the sponsor of the 2024 ASCA Student Council School of Excellence Awards program.  

For more information about ASCA or to connect with any of the ASCA Student Council School of Excellence Award recipients, email Nikki Sparks, NAESP Assistant Executive Director, Executive Services and Recognition Programs, at, or visit