NAESP Announces 2024 National Outstanding Assistant Principals

This year, NAESP honors 27 assistant principals from across the country who have demonstrated exceptional leadership.

Alexandria, VA—April 1, 2024—The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) recognizes 27 assistant principals (APs) as members of the 2024 class of National Outstanding Assistant Principals. NAESP is committed to supporting elementary and middle-level APs, and part of that commitment is recognizing them for their contributions to their school communities. 

“We celebrate the exceptional role of assistant principals, catalysts for positive change and vital architects of school success,” says NAESP Executive Director L. Earl Franks, Ed.D., CAE. “They stand as pillars of support, cultivating a nurturing environment that fosters both academic achievement and emotional well-being. It’s with great pride that we recognize the dedication and transformative impact of these passionate school leaders. Congratulations to the 2024 class of National Outstanding Assistant Principals.” 

Meet the 2024 Class 

This year, we recognize 20 elementary school APs, six middle-level APs, and one K–8 AP from across the country. Recipients have shared best practices that have helped them improve processes at their schools and thrive in their role. 

  • Michele Hewlett, Chickasaw Elementary School, Alabama 
  • Chantel Black, Ptarmigan Elementary School, Alaska 
  • Randi Fielding, Magma Ranch K-8 School, Arizona
  • Kristen Barnett, Eastside Elementary School, Arkansas 
  • Erin Hodges, Douglas MacArthur Junior High School, Arkansas 
  • Lauren Major, Wildflower Elementary School, Colorado 
  • Nicole Vibert, West Woods Upper Elementary School, Connecticut 
  • Kelyn Marmolejo, Cantwell’s Bridge Middle School, Delaware 
  • Hannah Gomillion, Van R. Butler Elementary School, Florida 
  • Amanda Smith, Black’s Mill Elementary School, Georgia 
  • April Smith, Lee County Middle School West, Georgia 
  • Jennifer Pimentel, Lana’i High and Elementary School, Hawaii 
  • Robert Bielawa, Henri A. Yelle Elementary School, Massachusetts 
  • Nicole Manning, West Springfield Middle School, Massachusetts 
  • Amy Blackledge, East Jackson Elementary School, Michigan 
  • Brett Lobben, Prairie View Elementary School, Minnesota 
  • Lindsey Millbrooks, DeSoto Central Elementary School, Mississippi 
  • Leanna Mackelprang, Shirley A. Barber Elementary School, Nevada 
  • Kelli Glisan, J.V. Washam Elementary School, North Carolina 
  • Josh Kitzman, Edison and John Hoeven Elementary Schools, North Dakota 
  • Andrew Kirby, Lionville Middle School, Pennsylvania 
  • Tomeka Love, Red Bank Elementary School, South Carolina 
  • Melissa Seaver, John Sevier Middle School, Tennessee 
  • Michael Joannou, Van Raub Elementary School, Texas 
  • Megan Thompson, Thoroughgood Elementary School, Virginia 
  • Nicholas Davies, Ogden Elementary School, Washington 
  • Megan Park, Gannett Peak Elementary School, Wyoming 

Nominated by peers in their states, recipients of this award are practicing APs with at least two years’ experience in the role who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and have set high standards for students, colleagues, parents, and the community. All National Outstanding Assistant Principals are members of NAESP at the time of their nomination. 

NAESP partner Landscape Structures is the proud sponsor of the 2024 National Outstanding Assistant Principal Program. 

This recognition comes as part of the National Assistant Principals Week, from April 1-5, 2024. Celebrate with us and follow along at #APWeek.  

For more information about the National Outstanding Assistant Principal Program or to connect with any of NOAPs, email Nikki Sparks, NAESP Assistant Executive Director, Executive Services and Recognition Programs, at, or visit