NAESP Welcomes New Vice President, Board Members

Media Advisory
Kaylen Tucker, NAESP

NAESP Welcomes New Vice President, Board Members

David N. Wick will serve as Vice President of NAESP’s Board of Directors; Victoria A. Reed, Angelina Martino Finnegan, and Kasandra Nelson will also join as new board members.

April 20, 2017—The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) welcomes David N. Wick, principal of Columbia Falls Junior High School in Columbia Falls, Montana, as the recently elected Vice President of NAESP’s Board of Directors.

Wick, a member of NAESP since 1994, has served on its Board of Directors since 2012. Wick is also a member of the Montana Association of Elementary and Middle School Principals, the School Administrators of Montana, and the Western Montana Principals.

“I believe that professional organizations need to listen and respond to their members.” Wick said. “The members are the Association, and the positive vision for the future of the principalship should be a direct reflection of the principals in the field.”

In NAESP Zone elections, the following individuals were elected to the Board of Directors:

  • Victoria A. Reed, principal of Highland Elementary School in Wallingford, Connecticut, will represent Zone 1 principals in Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
  • Angelina Martino Finnegan, principal of Lake Hiawatha School in Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, will represent Zone 2 principals in New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania.  
  • Kasandra Nelson, principal of Vici Elementary School in Vici, Oklahoma, will represent Zone 8 principals in Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.  

“On behalf of NAESP, I congratulate and welcome this highly talented group of newly-elected members of the Board of Directors,” said NAESP Executive Director Gail Connelly. “Their expertise on the front lines of education will help guide the Association as it continues to lead in the advocacy and support for elementary and middle-level principals and other educators in their commitment to all children.”

Note: New board members will begin three-year terms on August 1. Also starting new terms on August 1 are Brian K. Partin, of Kingsport, Tennessee, who will begin his tenure as NAESP President, and Eric S. Cardwell, of Alpena, Michigan, who will begin his tenure as NAESP President-Elect.


Established in 1921, the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) is the leading national association representing elementary and middle school principals in the United States, Canada, and overseas. NAESP supports principals as the primary catalysts for creating lasting foundations for learning in their commitment to all children through policy development, advocacy, and resources for effective instructional leadership. The Association seeks to advance the principals’ profession at the national level and address issues in pre-K-3 alignment, principal preparation and evaluation, and building the capacity of new principals. NAESP honors principals through its National Distinguished Principals program and administers a variety of professional services, including the National Mentor Certification program for principals.