The Sharing the Dream grant program, funded by  MetLife Foundation, began in 2004 after the annual MetLife Survey of the American Teacher revealed a significant disconnect between the ways in which principals and other members of the school community view their schools and relationships with one another.

As Sharing the Dream enters a new decade, principals are being asked to define community in broader ways that can build global awareness. The new emphasis on global connections grows out of findings from the most recent MetLife Survey of the American Teacher: Collaborating for Student Success, which found that 71 percent of teachers and 75 percent of principals believe that preparing students for competition and collaboration in a global economy is very important for improving student achievement.

For 2012-2013, NAESP and MetLife Foundation awarded 25 elementary and middle school principals with $5,000 each to create globally oriented schools and international learning communities, and to engage children in transformative, multidisciplinary experiences and service learning projects that will help them succeed in the interconnected world of the 21st century.

2012-2013 Winners:

Beardslee Elementary School
Ms. Jennifer Janetzke, Principal
Duarte, CA

Century Elementary
Mrs. Cindy Cochran  Principal
Grand Forks, North Dakota

Cascade K-8 Community School
Ms. Triah Pham, Principal
Shoreline, WA

Harriet Gifford Elementary
Mr. Joe Corcoran, Principal
Elgin, IL

Harrington School
100 South First Street
Harrington, WA

J.S. Clarke Elementary
Dr. Ruby Scrogggins, Principal
Shreveport, LA

Lyndale Community School
Mrs. Ossie Brook-James, Principal
Minneapolis, MN

Harris Elementary School
Ms. Karen  MacBeth, Principal
Woonsocket, RI

Whitney M. Young Jr. Elementary
Mrs. Mary Minyard, Principal
Louisville, KY

Laurel Ridge School
Mr. Nick Rousos, Principal
Fairfax, VA

Lake Region Middle School
Mrs. Tonya  Arnold, Principal
Naples, ME

St. Albans Elementary School
Ms. Joan Cavallo, Principal
St. Albans, VT

North Elementary School
Mrs, Natalie Webb, Principal
Morgantown, WV

Stetser Elementary School
Mrs. Janet Baldwin, Principal
Chester, PA

Hinsdale  Elementary School
Mrs. Ann Freitag, Principal
Hinsdale, NH

Prairie Vale Elementary
Mrs. Michelle  Anderson, Principal
Edmond, OK

Emily G. Wetherbee Elementary
Mrs. Colleen Lennon, Principal
Lawrence, MA

Rees Elementary
Mr. Paul Baez, Principal
Houston, TX

Southwest Academy Magnet School for Science and Engineering
Ms. Karen Barnes, Principal
Baltimore, MD

Union East Elementary
Ms. Gretchen Sukdolak, Principal
Cheektowaga, NY

Harrington School
Mr. Jacob Bang, Principal
Harrington, WA


To learn more about the Sharing the Dream program, contact Margaret Evans at 703-517-8989 or

Past Sharing the Dream Grant winners: