15 school principals win grants of $5,000 each for community and global engagement projects

Alexandria, VA—October 24, 2013—The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) and MetLife Foundation today announced the winners of the 2013-2014 Sharing the Dream grant program. Ten past recipients of Sharing the Dream grants have been awarded $5,000 each to expand projects that were funded between 2003—2012. An additional five grants of $5,000 have been awarded to schools for new projects that build community through global engagement. 

Click here to view the list of 2013-2014 winners.

Since 2004, with generous funding from MetLife Foundation, Sharing the Dream has awarded more than $2,000,000 in grants for projects that have impacted—and continue to impact—children, families and communities across the country and around the world.

"We are privileged to have partnered with MetLife Foundation over the past decade to support principals' bold efforts to bring children and families from different nations and cultures together to learn from one another," said NAESP Deputy Executive Director and NAESP Foundation CEO Ernest J. Mannino. "In this final, capstone year of the Sharing the Dream grant program, we are excited to celebrate and extend the legacy of the more than 300 awardees whose vision, innovation and leadership have positively impacted school communities the world over, and whose pioneering projects will continue to serve as models—and inspiration—for years to come."    

Unique to this final year of the Sharing the Dream program, ten "Keeping the Dream Going" grants of $5,000 each were awarded to principals who received grants in the past to take their Sharing the Dream projects to the next level of excellence. Sharing the Dream also continues its focus on global awareness by awarding five grants of $5,000 each for new projects that that promote peace and collaboration, community-building, respect for cultural and other differences and family involvement in school.

In all, fifteen Sharing the Dream grants are being awarded this school year to largely underserved urban and rural elementary and middle schools in fourteen states.

"MetLife Foundation has been pleased to partner with NAESP to support and encourage the important leadership roles principals play in their schools and communities," said Dennis White, president and CEO. "We applaud the creative and effective ways schools have used Sharing the Dream grants to engage parents and the community, and build global awareness."

Be inspired by Sharing the Dream schools nationwide at sharingthedreamgrant.wordpress.com

Established in 1921, the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) serves elementary and middle school principals in the United States, Canada, and overseas. NAESP supports principals as the primary catalysts for creating lasting foundations for learning through policy development, advocacy, and resources for effective instructional leadership. NAESP seeks to advance the principalship and address issues in pre-K–3 alignment, principal preparation and evaluation, and building the capacity of new principals. For more information about NAESP, please visit www.naesp.org

MetLife Foundation was created in 1976 to continue MetLife's long tradition of corporate contributions and community involvement. Today, the Foundation is dedicated to advancing financial inclusion, committing $200 million over the next five years to help build a secure future for individuals and communities around the world. To learn more about MetLife Foundation, visit www.metlife.org

2013-2014 Winners:

Sharing the Dream Grant Winners

Centreville Elementary
Mr. Dwayne Young, Principal
Centreville, VA
Project: The World Within Our Walls


Florence Middle School
Mrs. Aimee Rainey, Principal
Florence, AL
Project: Adventures Through Global Weather


Lowell Community Charter
Ms. Kathy Egmont, Principal
Lowell, MA
Project: The LCCPS Global Lowell Program


Lincoln Elementary
Dr. Maurisa Pruett, Principal
Ponca City, OK
Project: Building Bridges Multicultural Festivals


Mellon Elementary
Mrs. Tammie Driggers, Principal
Palatka, FL
Project: Connecting Globally for Our Future


Keeping the Dream Going Grant Winners


Cambridge School of Chicago
Mr. Derek Barber, Principal
Chicago, IL
Project: International Passport for All


Christel House Academy
Mr. Carey Dahncke, Principal
Indianapolis, IN
Project: Young Voices of Conflict


C.T. Sewell Elementary
Ms. Carrie Buck, Principal
Henderson, NV
Project: Empowered Parents and Families


Emily G. Wetherbee School
Ms. Colleen Lennon, Principal
Lawrence, MA
Project: Tribute Talks


Harris Elementary
Ms. Karen MacBeth, Principal
Woonsocket, RI
Project: Harris Community Dream Garden


Monitor Elementary
Mrs. Maribel Childress, Principal
Springdale, AR
Project: Monitor Family Digital Library


Southwest Academy Magnet School for Science and Engineering
Ms. Karen Barnes, Principal
Baltimore, MD
Project: Get Global!


St. Stephen Elementary
Ms. Elaine Norton, Principal
St. Stephen, SC
Project: Global Science Made Fun


Storm Lake Elementary
Ms. Juli Kwikkel
Storm Lake, IA
Project: Reaching More Corners of the World Through Technology


Stetser Elementary
Mrs. Janet Baldwin, Principal
Chester, PA
Project: Exploring Our Global Community—A Continuation