The NAESP publication Leading Learning Communities: Standards for What Principals Should Know and Be Able to Do is recognized as the performance guideline for principal practice. Written and designed as a guide to provide content, tools, and resources principals can use to meet individual and school-wide goals, Leading Learning Communities defines six standard practice areas that principals should comprehend and be capable of implementing in their schools:

Standard 1: Lead student and adult learning
Standard 2: Lead diverse communities
Standard 3: Lead 21st century learning
Standard 4: Lead continuous improvement
Standard 5: Lead using knowledge and data
Standard 6: Lead parent, family, and community engagement