The U.S. Department of Education (ED) has announced that nine waiver applications were submitted by the September 6 deadline. The states that requested a waiver include Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Maine, New Hampshire, North Dakota and West Virginia. Puerto Rico and the Bureau of Indian Education also submitted an application. 

The U.S. Department of Education stated that in addition to the new applications submitted, California, Illinois, Idaho and Iowa still have outstanding applications.

For the six states that have not requested a waiver (Montana, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont and Wyoming), ED has stated that it will work with all interested applicants on a rolling basis. In a surprise move, Texas announced recently that it intends to submit an application for a waiver, but wants the ability to apply for a Texas-designed waiver, similar to what California has requested. Texas has not applied for Race to the Top grants nor adopted Common Core State Standards. Virginia proved Common Core adoption was not required when they were granted a waiver earlier this year.

You can find more about the current waivers and recent submitted application here.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.


Steam is the store or market place where thousands for games are available you can get these games free from steam website.

We could now be generating

We could now be generating gta 5 online as we know that we can get the cash.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.