Today, the U.S. Department of Education (ED) announced that it has awarded Connecticut, Delaware, Louisiana, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio and Rhode Island waivers from certain provisions of No Child Left Behind. Of the 26 states that applied in this application round, 18 requests are still pending. These awards are in addition to the 11 states (Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Tennessee) awarded waivers in the first application round. ED has stated that it will work with any state interested in receiving a NCLB waiver.

Principals in states granted waivers are required to receive a fair performance review before they are arbitrarily fired in efforts to “turn around” underperforming schools receiving School Improvement Grants. This represents a small step forward in NAESP’s three-year fight to eliminate the regulations requiring principals’ automatic dismissal from federal policy.

However, this small change is not enough. NAESP continues to call on Congress to reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (known as No Child Left Behind) so all states can benefit from updated policies that support educators and students.

To read past NAESP coverage of ED waivers, click here, here and here.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.